UK Plumber Forum 

A place of resource for Plumbers and Gas Engineers in the UK.

Trainee Apprentice Plumbers Section. Learning or looking to join the trade?
100 %
By SomeRandomUsername
Hi,

I'm currently an HGV driver working 6 days a week. I have worked most of my life (before becoming an HGV driver) on sites being a labourer for a plumber and a groundworker so I know how sites work. However I'm looking to become a fully qualified plumber. Unfortunately my dad who was the plumber is unable to work now so that's my only easy option gone!

I have bills to pay so going to college full time isn't an option and these fast track courses seem a bit suspicious. Am I out of luck? What's your opinions on a route I could take?

Any info would be greatly appreciated!
By REDSAW
find a plumber you can work with, advertise for some work and then give him the leads as the agreement you work with him.
or
just advertise taps fixed, rads change, basin install etc, something you know you can do well.
failing that then do jobs for freinds and family first. you cant buy a skill you need to learn one.

if you know nothing then enroll on a nvq1-2 course which is mainly theory to get you started.

after doing so you can start to pick up your own work- but you need to be competant at what you do so practice on the freinds list first!
you dont need formal qualifications to become a plumber but to do so compliments your knowledge and ability.

+ i'd ditch that 6 day week job and get off the conveyor belt :lol:
By SomeRandomUsername
Good advice! The idea I've had is to advertise for small jobs and do them on a weekend. Could you elaborate more on what sort of small jobs I could realistically do in a day?

I was looking at nvq but they're all full time... I can't afford to not work, this is where a lot of the problems lie!